Skip to main content

Award Winning Children's Books: Home

Where Is the Children's Collection?

The Children's Collection is located on the second floor near the call numbers PQ-Z and next to study carrels.  

Children's collection sign with reading room.

View of Children's Collection from Stacks

Need help finding this section? Please visit the Research Help desk and a librarian there will be more than happy to help you!

Children's collection reading room with multicolored tables.

Children's Area and Collection

Did You Know? You can check out any book from the Children's Collection for 2 weeks with your ELAC ID. 

 

Welcome to ELAC's Children's Collection

The Children's Collection contains books for Child Development students as well as anyone else who is interested in children's materials.  

This collection also contains books that have been awarded for their distinguished contribution to American literature, Latino and African American culture, illustrations for American picture books, and distinguished written and illustrated works for beginning reader's books published in the United States.

Circle of colorful hands with name of notable book awards printed across the palms.

 

This guide was created to help ELAC's students explore these honored children's books. Use the tabs above to navigate the guide. 

 

Guide Creator Profile

ELAC 2016 Intern

Fall 2016 Intern Jessi Gutierrez in front of her "Banned Books" library display.

Jessi Gutierrez

Jessi received her Masters in Library and Information Science from San Jose State University in December 2016 and hopes to become a public or academic librarian. When not stressing over school, you can find Jessi hiking popular trails in California, reading science fiction books, editing video footage, or creating art for sale.