Skip to main content

Faculty Support & Services

Faculty FLEX Workshops

View the calendar below and click on the workshop you'd like to attend to register.

Research Help

ELAC Libraries subscribes to 100% online Information Literacy/Library Research Tutorials.

You and your students can access them here (ACE login required if off-campus): researchguides.elac.edu/tutorial

Find more information on how to use the tutorials in your classroom here: http://researchguides.elac.edu/infolithelp

Visit and share our online research guides at researchguides.elac.edu, available 24/7!

If you would like a subject guide created for your discipline, please contact an Instruction Librarian to set up a guide consultation.

Loading ...

Adding Content in Canvas

You can easily add the Library Homepage (library.elac.edu) to your Canvas sites. Here's how:

  1. Log into Canvas at ilearn.laccd.edu
  2. Select your course
  3. In the left navigation, select Settings
  4. Click on the Navigation tab
  5. Drag and drop "Library" to until it is in your course navigation pane
  6. Click Save

Now your students have one-click access to the Library in your Canvas course!

screenshot of canvas site with library link highlighted

In Canvas, you can easily link students to articles you've found in any of our library databases.

There are two options to adding database content:

  1. Find an article's "Permalink" or "Stable URL" or "DOI" and add the link as an external URL in a Canvas module. Most of our library databases will include one of these stable URLs which include our specific ELAC proxy. 
  2. Download the article's PDF and upload the article as a file to a Canvas module. You will have to do this with databases that do not provide stable URLs, such as ProQuest.

How to find permalinks in EBSCO databases:

  1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
  2. To the right of the article record, click on Permalink
  3. Your permalink will populate at the top of the article record

ebsco permalink

How to find stable URLs in JSTOR:

  1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
  2. Your Stable URL will be underneath the article title in the details

jstor stable url

How to find DOIs in ScienceDirect:

  1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
  2. The DOI will be hyperlinked underneath the authors' names

sciencedirect doi

‚ÄčHow to add the content in Canvas: 

  1. Login to ilearn.laccd.edu
  2. Click on your class
  3. Click on Modules
  4. Click on the + symbol to add content to your chosen module
  5. If you have a permalink, Stable URL, or DOI select External URL from the Add dropdown menu
    1. Copy and paste the Permalink, Stable URL, or DOI into the URL field
    2. Remind students that if they are off-campus, they will be prompted to login with their ACE information before the article loads.
  6. If you have a PDF or document you've downloaded from a database, select File from the Add dropdown menu
    1. Select New File
    2. Upload the document you've downloaded from the database
  7. Check out the video below for a quick demonstration.
Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
Loading ...

24/7 Resources

Many of the library’s resources and services are available at all times (24 hours a day, 7 days a week) including:

Icon for Live Chat

24/7 Live Chat with a librarian who can help answer questions.

Icon for E-documents

E-books available to read.

Icon for Electronic Access

Electronic access to newspapers.

Icon for Databases

Electronic databases providing access to a rich diversity of research sources.

Icon for Streaming Media

Streaming videos to enjoy.

Icon for Guides

Research and course guides to point you in the direction of great resources.

Handouts for the Classroom

Loading ...