This is the "Literature Articles" page of the "Langdell: English 101 and 102" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Langdell: English 101 and 102   Tags: cheri, doerr, hamlet, langdell, wilde  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.elac.edu/Langdell_English101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Literature Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are keywords?

Keywords are the words you type into the search box in a database like EBSCO, Gale Literary Sources, or JSTOR. 

Keyword searching tips:

1. Remember: Library databases are not Google! You can't type in an entire sentence, so use keywords!

2. Keywords are usually the nouns, noun phrases, and main words in your prompt, thesis and/or research question.

3. Less is more! The more words you type in the search boxes, the less results you will get. 

4. Don't be afraid to play! Try different words, or combinations of words, and multiple databases.

 

Try some of these keyword searches:

  • Hamlet and Ophelia
  • All the Light and Doerr
  • Importance of Being Ernest and Wilde
  • "All the Light We Cannot See" [or the title of your text]
 

Literature Resources from Gale

Gale Literary Sources is a great place to read literary criticisms and author biographies.

Tip: Type in the title of a story or the author's name to find critical essays, reviews, overviews, and biographies.

You can also search in

 

Proquest

Proquest is a multi-subject article database

 

EBSCO Host

EBSCO is a company that provides many multi-disciplinary article databases.

A search in EBSCO will result in magazine, news, and scholarly journal articles.

Tip: Use the left-hand column if you want to limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journal" content.

 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences

JSTOR Arts and Sciences is a database specifically for scholarly journal articles in the humanities fields.

How to Access Databases Off Campus

 

Research Help

Chat with a Librarian! 

In-person:
Speak to a Librarian at the Research Help Desk during open hours

Phone:
Call us during open hours 
at (323) 357-6214

Online 24/7:
Use our "Ask a Librarian 24/7"
chat service

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip