- Gale Virtual Reference Library: These trusted online encyclopedias are a great alternative to Wikipedia. Type in one or two keywords in the search bar to read entries from specialized encyclopedias on your topic.
- GREENR: (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) GREENR provides news, background information, primary source documents and statistics covering energy systems, healthcare, food safety, climate change, growing populations and economic development.
- EBSCO: contains many multi-disciplinary databases (including Academic Search Premier & GreenFile) which search magazine, news, and scholarly journal articles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context: access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles. Click on "Browse Issues" and limit to category "Energy and Environmentalism" to see topic pages related to your paper.
- CQ Researcher: offerts in-depth reports on political and social issues, with regular reports on health, the U.S. economy, the environment, technology, and international affairs.
- ScienceDirect: advanced database offering scholarly articles and chapters from scholarly books in all fields of science.
Database Search Tips
- Use no more than three keywords per search
- Use quotes around a phrase to search the words in that exact order: "emission methods"
- Use AND to connect two ideas and narrow your results: "air pollution" AND "Los Angeles"
- Use OR to expand your search: "air pollution" AND "climate change" OR "global warming"
- Use an asterisk (*) to search multiple forms of a word: child* searches child, children, childless, etc.
Try some of these searches:
- children AND "air pollution"
- lead OR arsenic AND children
- lead AND pregnan* AND birth effects
- emissions AND regulations AND child*
- environmental justice AND children
- pollution AND effects AND children
- lead contamination AND children
- blood sampling AND children
- environmental racism OR environmental justice
Remember, research is a process. You may never find the "perfect article" or conduct the "perfect search." Play around with different keywords, try different searches, and explore different databases to maximize your knowledge!
ELAC Library offers many eBook collections, all with free 24/7 access for our ELAC students.
To search our catalog of EBSCO eBooks click here. You can also click on the ebooks I've linked to in this guide.
Check out our collection of Oxford's "Very Short Introductions" series by clicking here.
(Note: When you access ebooks off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your ACE Account.)