This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Help   Tags: apa, bibliography, chicago style, citation help, citing sources, mla  

This guide provides tips on how to cite resources using MLA, APA, Chicago and other citation styles.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.elac.edu/citationhelp Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide provides tools you can use to learn how to cite resources using MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian citation styles.

 

ELAC Campus Resources

The Writing Center- The Writing Center is available to all ELAC students and provides a variety of workshops, tutorials and one-on-one tutoring.  Go to the Writing Center web site to sign up for a MLA citation workshop.

The Library- Attend the Cite Your Sources and Avoid Plagiarism workshop and learn about when and how to properly cite your sources using APA and MLA citation styles.  Check out the workshop schedule from the library home page and stop by the library to sign up for a workshop.

 

Disclaimer

The information presented here is meant to provide examples and guides. 

Please verify all citation examples by checking the style handbook.

 

Online Resources

EasyBib: ELAC students are eligible for a free account but need to sign up on campus computer. This resource helps you create citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago Style. 

Noodle Bib Express- This is a free, online website that helps you create citations in APA, MLA or Chicago styles.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)- This website provides writing resources and instructional materials for students, including citation guides for MLA, APA and Chicago.

Duke University Libraries - This website provides useful resources related to citation styles and how to avoid plagiarism.

Citation Builder- This tool from the University of North Carolina (UNC) lets you build citations based on the resource you are citing.

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online Website - This website provides examples of citations and examples of papers formatted for various citation styles.

Annotated Bibliography - This website, from the Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, gives guidelines and examples of how to write annotated bibliographies using MLA, APA and CBE/CSE citation styles.

 

Style Manuals

 

Print Resources

Regardless of the type of citation style you are using, the offical handbook for that style is an excellent resource not only for citation guidelines but also on how to format your research paper.

Take a look at these books in the ELAC library:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - LB 2369. P83 2010

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - LB 2369. G53 2009

The Chicago Manual of Style - LB 2369. U69 2003

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations - LB2369. T8 2007

 

 

  Guide Developer

This guide was created in spring 2010 by Christine Bennett, a student intern in the Department of Information Studies at UCLA.

For questions about the guide contact Amy Guy, ELAC Instruction Librarian, at (323) 267-3775.

 

Contact Us

Ask a Reference or Research Question:

  • Call (323) 415-4134 to speak to a reference librarian.

  • Visit a reference librarian during open hours at the reference desk.

  • Ask a reference question using Instant Messaging by clicking here
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip