Alphabetical List of Library Databases
EBSCO (Search EBSCOhost databases)
Gale (Descriptive list of databases)
PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses)
ProQuest (List of ProQuest Databases)
Very Short Introductions (ebooks)
Academic OneFile: extensive coverage of physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, etc.
Academic Search Premier: extensive coverage of biology, chemistry, engineering, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, science, technology, veterninary science, etc.
Alt-PressWatch: is comprised of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
America: History and Life with Full Text: covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Art Online (Grove): contains over 5,000 art images, maps, and line drawings from major collections and also contains links to over 40,000 images at museum websites.
ARTstor: contains over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from more than 150 museum and university collections of paintings and photographs.
Note: Access to ARTstor through a mobile device requires registration. Please register in the ELAC libraries or via a personal computer after clicking the link above.
Auto Repair Reference Center: contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins & recalls, enhanced wiring diagrams, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ, diagnostic information, and much more.
Biography in Context: contains biographies on more than 335,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
BIR Entertainment: provides information on music titles and DVD/video titles.
Book Index with Reviews: provides information on over 5 million book titles in a wide range of formats. BIR also contains full-text searchable book reviews.
Business Insights: Global: Research and analyze companies, industries, and economies around the world; features robust data sets, visualization tools, and case studies.
Business Source Elite: provides full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
Consumer Health Complete: provides consumer-oriented health content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, CHC includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Contemporary Authors: provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism: collects more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
CountryWatch: provides country specific information on each of the 192 countries of the world.
CQ Researcher: offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the US economy.
Dictionary of Literary Biography: provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
EasyBib: is an automatic bibliography composer. When you have sources you need to cite properly for your research paper, EasyBib will help you format your sources quickly. Note: The ELAC libraries subscribe to EasyBib's premium services. Register for your personal EasyBib account by clicking the link below.
eBooks (EBSCO): find more than 24,000 digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction plus over 13,000 publicly-accessible titles.
EBSCO: Search EBSCOhost databases:
EBSCO Science Full-Text Select: Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
ERIC (thru EBSCO): The Education Resources Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records on topics in education with links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Ethnic NewsWatch: full-text titles offer additional viewpoints focusing on minority or ethnic issues. Spanish language search interfaces are provided.
Eureka: Library of occupational and educational information. It provides information for salary ranges, educational requirements, descriptions of job duties, ways to prepare licensing requirements, tips on finding job-related associations, and links to job hunt web sites.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750: Index for students interested in early European works that relate to the Americas. The index contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Films on Demand: leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia: provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Science in Context: features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources.
GenderWatch: contains diverse publications focusing on how gender impacts various subject areas. GenderWatch is a repository of documents on the women's movement and changes in gender roles.
GLEEDITIONS [annotated literature ebooks]: contains interactive, digital editions and video clips of great world literature with historical background, index, glossary, and graphics.
Global Issues in Context: ties together sources to present a rich analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, and cultural issues in world hot spots. GIC provides a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
GreenFILE: offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources): covers issues regarding the environment and sustainability. GREENR provides news, background information, primary source documents and statistics covering energy systems, healthcare, food safety, climate change, growing populations and economic development.
Health Source - Consumer Edition: is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition: provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health & Wellness Resource Center: provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and related information. HWRC delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources.
Historical L.A. Times: (1881-1987) offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
Informe: is speciﬁcally designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users. With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, it provides quality Hispanic reference material — not simply Spanish translations of English-language materials
Intelecom: A hosted and searchable video clip database for today's online learning environments.
JSTOR Mathmatics and Statistics: This collection brings together over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences from existing JSTOR collections.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Literature Resources from Gale: find information about authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major literature databases including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Literature Resource Center to find full-text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Magazines A-Z: is a list of periodical titles to which ELAC subscribes. Electronic periodicals have links to the databases where they can be found. Print periodical subscriptions note the ELAC library in which they are held.
MAS Ultra - School Edition: designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Premier: designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
MEDLINE (thru EBSCO): provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Military & Government Collection: designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those organizations.
Music Online (Grove): contains over 50,000 subject articles and biographies written by more than 6000 contributors. Grove Music Online also includes the full text of the The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
NewsBank -- ACCESS WORLD NEWS RESEARCH COLLECTION: contains more than 5,900 news resources, providing current and archived news content for information on topics, events, issues, people, businesses, and more. Easy online access to local, in-state, national and international news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, news web-only content and videos.
Newspaper Source Plus: includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Newsstand (Infotrac): provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newsstand (ProQuest): offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Nursing Book Collection:nbsp;provides comprehensive coverage of key nursing topics from core nursing knowledge and procedures to specialized subjects. The content is provided by Lippincott/Springhouse from Ovid.
Nursing Resource Center: includes disease and condition overviews, in-depth coverage of the nursing assessments for every anatomical system, corresponding interventions, explanations of diagnostic tests, drug monographs tailored to nurses’ information needs, animations that bring anatomy to life and much more! Also access full-text from key journals in the field.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online: provides fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
Popular Magazines: More than 75% of this resource contains titles not included in other library databases; there is a strong focus on current events, sports, science, and health; and a full collection of NPR shows with transcripts and podcasts.
PQDT Open: : ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a free open access database.
Primary Search: provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) and date as far back as 1990.
Professional Development Collection: provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest: descriptions of the databases provided by ProQuest can be found at
PsycARTICLES: find full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals, covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Regional Business News: provides full text coverage for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion and Philosophy Collection: provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Research Companion: ProQuest’s flagship information literacy product was built to help students do more effective scholarly research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
Searchasaurus - Elementary School: Animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies.
Salem Health: This reference database currently includes Cancer and Psychology & Mental Health.
Salem History: This reference database contains the Great Athletes, Great Events and Great Lives encyclopedias, a primary documents source called Milestone Documents, and other works like Decades and the Encyclopedia of American Business.
Salem Science: This reference database includes the Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science and The Solar System.
Science in Context: features authoritative information for assignments and projects and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Small Business Resource Center: learn how to start, finance or manage your small business; resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Student Research Center: provides students in secondary education with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they seek from their EBSCO databases.
Student Resources in Context: provides topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of contents.
Teacher Reference Center: provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
U.S. History in Context: delivers the best titles from world-class sources. Find comprehensive coverage of the most-studied topics, from the arrival of Vikings in North America 1,000 years ago to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
World History in Context: WHIC offers students and researchers unparalleled access to a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents.
World Trade Ref: is a comprehensive international trade database.