Research Guides: English Research Guide: ENG103: Rodriguez

Prof. Rodriguez's English 103

Welcome to Prof. Rodriguez's English 103 research page!

Research Guide URL: http://researchguides.elac.edu/english/Rodriguez103

Librarian Book Picks

Books linked in blue are e-Books and can be read on your computer once you login with your ACE account.

For all other books, write down the book's title and call number to find the book in the Library.

Check our library catalog for more titles!

Cruising Utopia: the then and there of queer futurity
Call Number: HQ76.25 .M86 2009 (Second Floor Stacks)
Erotic City: Sexual Revolutions and the Making of Modern San Francisco
Ultimately, Sides argues, one cannot understand the evolution of postwar American cities without recognizing the profound role that sex has played. More broadly, one cannot understand modern American politics without taking into account the postwar transformation of San Francisco and other cities into both real and imagined repositories of unfettered sexual desire.
Faeries, Bears, and Leathermen: Men in Community Queering the Masculine
Along with a historical analysis of the association between effeminacy and homosexuality, Hennen examines how this connection affects the groups'sexual practices. Ultimately, he argues, while all three groups adopt innovative approaches to gender issues and sexual pleasure, masculine norms continue to constrain members of each community.
From "Perverts" to "Fab Five": The Media's Changing Depiction of Gay Men and Lesbians
Each chapter illuminates a particular media product that served as a milestone on the media's journey from demonizing homosexuals some fifty years ago to celebrating gay people--or at least some categories of gay people--today.
The Gay Liberation Youth Movement in New York
Cohen examines how gay liberation shaped understandings of sexual identity, membership criteria, organization, decision-making, the roles of youth and adults, and efforts to effect social change.
Infectious Ideas: U.S. Political Responses to the AIDS Crisis
Brier describes how AIDS workers influenced American politics, especially on issues such as gay and lesbian rights, reproductive health, racial justice, and health care policy, even in the face of the expansion of the New Right.
The Lesbian and Gay Movements: assimilation or liberation
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U5 R58 2008 (Second Floor Stacks)
Moving Politics: Emotion and Act Up's Fight Against AIDS
Surprisingly overlooked by many scholars of social movements, emotion, Gould argues, plays a fundamental role in political activism. From anger to hope, pride to shame, and solidarity to despair, feelings played a significant part in ACT UP s provocative style of protest, which included raucous demonstrations, die-ins, and other kinds of street theater.
No Future: queer theory and the death drive by Lee Edelman
Call Number: HQ76.25 .E34 2004 (Second Floor Stacks)
The Politics of Gay Rights
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U5 P65 2000 (Second Floor Stacks)
Queer Youth Cultures
Essays explore the contemporary contexts, activism, and cultural productions of queer youth and their communities.
Space, Place, and Sex: Geographies of Sexualities
Drawing on a diverse array of historical and contemporary examples, the authors argue convincingly that sexual politics permeate all places and spaces at every level of geographical scale. Thus, they illustrate, sexuality affects the way people live in and interact with space and place, as space and place in turn affect people's sexuality.
The Story of Sexual Identity: Narrative Perspectives on the Gay and Lesbian Life Course
Central to the chapters in this volume is the significance of history, generation, and narrative in the provision of a workable and meaningful configuration of identity.
Wide-Open Town - A History of Queer San Francisco to 1965
Wide-Open Town argues that police persecution forged debates about rights and justice that transformed San Francisco's queer communities into the identity-based groups we see today.

Recommended Databases

ProQuest
Use all ProQuest databases to find a mix of local, national, and alt-press newspaper articles. You can also limit your searches to retrieve only peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Type in a search term, and change the "Select a Field" drop-down to "TX All Text" for a more thorough search!
Includes the following EBSCO eBook collections: Academic Collection, eBook Collection, eBook Community College Collection, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, History Reference eBook Collection, MAS Reference eBook Collection, MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection, and Primary Search Reference eBook Collection.

Sample Database Searches

Having trouble finding articles?

Try some of these example searches in both JSTOR and ProQuest:

1970s sexual revolution
1970s gay rights AND politics
1970s police violence AND gays
public sex AND gay community
cruising AND (homosexuals OR gays)
gays AND (law enforcement OR police)
criminal profiling AND (gays OR lgbt)
queer theory AND public sex
queer sex AND (activism OR resistance)
hate crimes AND lgbt

Other keywords to try:

queer history or culture or community or theory
LGBT history or culture or community or theory
1960s or 1970s sexual liberation or sexual freedom

Tips to Identifying Scholarly "Peer-Reviewed" Journal Articles

Scholarly journals generally have the following characteristics:

authors are experts or researchers
articles are usually long with very few pictures
may include charts, graphs or statistics
topic targets a specific audience
sources are cited in footnotes or lengthy bibliographies
articles report on a study, research or experimentation
before chosen to publish, articles are peer-reviewed by an editorial board or peers
journals are published by a professional organization

Helpful Websites with Primary Sources

The Williams Institute
The Williams Institute conducts research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. The website provides education, state-specific research and data, publications, and information about events.
Digital Public Library of America
Many libraries and museums house primary sources. This website will search digital repositories of open-access content!
PBS Video
Use the search feature to find videos on your topic.

Statistics on the Open Web

Finding Statistics Online

CIA World Factbook
Government, economy, and energy, data for world entities.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Economic database maintained by Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Research Division.
International Monetary Fund Data
Data on exchange rates, IMF lending, and financial indicators.
U.S. Treasury Data and Chart Center
U.S. economy data and charts.
World Bank Data
Economy and growth data by country.
U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics
Fact-finding agency for the U.S. Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
U.S. Government Open Data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
American Fact Finder
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
U.S. Census A-Z
U.S. Census data arranged by subject.
California Center for Jobs & the Economy
Data profiles arranged by County, Assembly District, Senate District, US Congress District, Go-Biz Region, or Workforce Region.
Pew Research Center
Here you will find information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.
Census Quick Facts
Overview of demographic data for the US population overall and of individual cities via keyword search.
Census Data Portal
Visual representations using infographics and charts or graphs of US census demographic data searchable by city or county.