Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources

Open Textbook Examples

U.S. History
Full text: https://openstax.org/details/books/us-history

World History in the Early Modern and Modern Areas
Full text: http://www.oercommons.org/courses/world-history-in-the-early-modern-and-modern-eras-1600-present/view

World History in the Early Modern and Modern Eras (1600-Present)
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=31

American History
Full Text: http://americanyawp.com/

History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=368 or
Full Text: http://digitalcommons.northgeorgia.edu/books/1/
Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/history-textbooks/1/

United States History, Volume 2
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/united-states-history-volume-2/

World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=375Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/history-textbooks/2/

Modern Revolutions
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=32

Global Perspectives on Industrialization
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=33

US History I (American Yawp)
Full Text: https://courses.candelalearning.com/ushistory1yawp2xmaster/

US History II (American Yawp)
Full Text: https://courses.candelalearning.com/ushistory2yawp2xmaster/

U.S. History Hub
Full Text: https://www.boundless.com/u-s-history/

U.S. History
Full Text: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/US_History

Other OER Resources

Teaching History
http://www.teachinghistory.org/history-content

The Avalon Project
http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp

Digital Public Library of America
https://dp.la/

USHistory.org
http://www.ushistory.org/textbooks.htm

The Process of Research Writing
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=284  or
Full Text: http://www.stevendkrause.com/tprw/  

Sage American History
http://sageamericanhistory.net/

Additional History OER Textbooks and Resources
http://www.collegeopentextbooks.org/textbook-listings/textbooks-by-subject/history

Learn About Creative Commons (CC) Licenses
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

source: San Bernardino Valley College