Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources

Open Textbook Examples

Frameworks for Academic Writing
http://spoulter6.wixsite.com/frameworks

Writing in College
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/writingincollege/ or
Full Text: https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/247

Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence
Full Text: https://textbooks.opensuny.org/writing-in-college-from-competence-to-excellence/
Full Text: https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/?uuid=76589513-9fc0-4b24-a1ad-629d0a0348ac&contributor=&keyword=&subject=English

About Writing A Guide
Full Text: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/aboutwriting/ or
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=359

The Word on College Reading and Writing
Full Text: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/wrd/

Writing for Success
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=53 or
Full Text: Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/successful-writing/  or
Full Text: http://open.lib.umn.edu/writingforsuccess/

Successful College Composition
Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/english-textbooks/8/

Writer's Handbook
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/writers-handbook/

Basic Reading and Writing
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/basicreadingandwriting/

Developmental Writing
Full text: https://courses.candelalearning.com/developmentalwriting/

Conventions 101: A Functional Approach to Teaching (And Assessing!) Grammar and Punctuation
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=358

Pre-College English
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=42

Developmental English: Introduction to College Composition
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-introtocollegecomp/

English Composition I
Full text: http://courses.candelalearning.com/englishcomp1v2xmaster/

Composition I Anthology
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-readinganthology/

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Volume I
Full Text: http://writingspaces.org/volume1 or
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=45

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, Volume 2
Full Text: http://writingspaces.org/volume2 or
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=165

English Composition I
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=43
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-englishcomp1v2/

English Composition II
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/engl002
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-englishcomp2kscopexmaster/

Frameworks for Academic Writing
Full Text: http://spoulter6.wixsite.com/frameworks

The Process of Research Writing
Full text: http://www.oercommons.org/courses/the-process-of-research-writing/view

Introduction to Literature
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-introliterature/

Survey of American Literature
Full text: http://courses.candelalearning.com/americanlit1xmaster/

American Literature II
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-americanlit2/

English Literature: Victorians and Moderns
Full Text: https://opentextbc.ca/englishliterature/

Compact Anthology of World Literature
Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/english-textbooks/2/

Open Anthology of Early World Literature in English Translation
Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/english-textbooks/1/

The American Renaissance
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=45

Writing the Nation: A Concise Introduction to American Literature 1865 to Present
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=408

Towards an Open Anthology of Poetry
Full Text: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/poetry/

Technical Writing
Full Text: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/technicalwriting/ or
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=412 or
Full Text: https://learn.saylor.org/course/view.php?id=368 or
Full Text: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/oregonwrites/

A Guide to Perspective Analysis
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/a-guide-to-perspective-analysis/

Compact Anthology of World Literature
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=410

World Literature I: Beginnings to 1650
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=409 or
Full Text: https://textbooks.opensuny.org/literature-humanities-humanity/

Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=204
Full Text: https://open.bccampus.ca/find-open-textbooks/?uuid=e3daa803-298b-4e88-b8e9-06086175b17a&contributor=&keyword=&subject=English

An Introduction to British Literature
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/an-introduction-to-british-literature/

British Literature
Full Text: https://courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-britlit1/

Creating Literary Analysis
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/creating-literary-analysis/

English for Business Success
Full Text: https://2012books.lardbucket.org/books/english-for-business-success/ or
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=65

A Rhetoric of Literate Action: Literate Action Volume 1
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=307

Writing for Strategic Communication Industries
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=360

Information Strategies for Communicators (Journalism)
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=238 or
Full Text: http://open.lib.umn.edu/infostrategies/

Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Full Text: https://press.rebus.community/media-innovation-and-entrepreneurship/

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, Volume 1
https://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/books/2/

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing, Volume 2
https://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/books/3/

Writing Spaces Web Writing Style Guide Version 1.0
https://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/books/5/

UCLA Children's Book Collection
https://archive.org/details/yrlsc_childrens&tab=collection

Historical Children Literature
http://ufdc.ufl.edu/baldwin/all/thumbs

Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Journalism)
https://press.rebus.community/media-innovation-and-entrepreneurship/

Other OER Resources

Online Writing Lab
http://owl.excelsior.edu/

Writing Commons
http://writingcommons.org/

Writing Spaces
http://writingspaces.org/

A Theory of Literate Action: Literate Action Volume 2
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=308

Exploring Perspectives: A Concise Guide to Analysis
Full Text: http://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/BookDetail.aspx?bookId=68

My Town: Writers on American Cities
Full Text: https://publications.america.gov/publication/writers-on-america/

Additional English and Composition OER Textbooks and Resources
http://www.collegeopentextbooks.org/textbook-listings/textbooks-by-subject/englishandcomposition

Project Gutenberg
http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/

Literature
http://www.collegeopentextbooks.org/textbook-listings/textbooks-by-subject/literature

The Gordon State College Writing Handbook
Full Text: http://oer.galileo.usg.edu/english-textbooks/7/

Digitilized Historical Children's Books
UCLA Collection: https://archive.org/details/yrlsc_childrens&tab=collection
University of Florida Baldwin Library Collection: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/baldwin/all/thumbs

Directory of Open Access Books
https://www.doabooks.org/doab?func=search&uiLanguage=en&template=&query=literature

 

Learn About Creative Commons (CC) Licenses
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/

source: San Bernardino Valley College