This is the "Off-Campus Access" page of the "Find Articles and More" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find Articles and More  

Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more on this page.
Last Updated: Jan 9, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.elac.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Off-Campus Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Alphabetical List of Library Databases

Academic OneFile

Academic Search Premier

Alt-PressWatch

America: History and Life with Full Text

Art Online (Grove)

Artstor

Auto Repair Reference Center

Bilingual Dictionaries (Oxford  Dictionaries Premium) 

Biography in Context

BIR Entertainment

Book Index with Reviews

Business Insights: Global

Business (Small) Resource Center

Business Source Elite

Chronicle of Higher Education

Consumer Health Complete

CountryWatch

CQ Researcher

EasyBib

EBSCO (Search EBSCOhost databases)

EBSCO (e-books)

EBSCO Full Text Finder

EBSCO Science Full-Text Select

ERIC (EBSCO)

Ethnic NewsWatch

Eureka

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

Films on Demand

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Gale (Descriptive list of databases)

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Science in Context

Gale Virtual Reference Library

GenderWatch

GLEEDITIONS

Global Issues in Context

GreenFILE

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)

Grove Art Online (GAO)

Grove Music Online (GMO)

Health & Wellness Resource Center

Health Reference Center Academic

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Historical L.A. Times (1881-1987)

Informe Academico

Infotrac Newsstand

Intelecom

JSTOR Arts and Sciences

JSTOR Mathematics and Statistics 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

MAS Ultra - School Edition

MasterFILE Premier

MEDLINE

Military & Government Collection

Music Online (Grove)

NewsBank -- ACCESS WORLD NEWS RESEARCH COLLECTION

Newspaper Source Plus

Newsstand (Infotrac)

Newsstand (ProQuest)

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

Nursing Book Collection

Nursing Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Oxford Dictionaries Premium 

Oxford Living Dictionaries: English (Free Version)

Popular Magazines

PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses)

Primary Search

Professional Development Collection

ProQuest (List of ProQuest Databases)

ProQuest Newsstand

PsycARTICLES

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection 

PsycINFO

Regional Business News

Religion and Philosophy Collection 

Research Companion

Salem Encyclopedias (Health, History, Literature, and Science)

Searchasaurus - Elementary School

Science in Context

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

SIRS Issues Researcher

Small Business Resource Center

Student Research Center

Student Resources in Context

Teacher Reference Center

U.S. History in Context

Very Short Introductions (ebooks)

World History in Context

World Trade Ref

 

Off-Campus Instructions

Off-Campus Access Instructions

First time users:

Students and Faculty of the college are automatically assigned an ACE account, which provides access to various campus services. Anyone wishing to use the library's online databases off-campus must go through an authentication process using your ACE account. The library’s online databases are available for research 24/7.

Note:
ELAC staff may request an ACE account from IT department.

Students:
All students who are enrolled in at least one class, except for Community Services classes at present, are automatically assigned an ACE account.
For example, a student named John M. Smith with student ID number 881234567 who was born on January 8, 1990, would have the following account information:

Username
Your username is the same as the Student ID number which starts with 88 and is a 9-digit number, for example, 881234567.

Password
The password starts with “Elac,” and is followed by the month and date of the student's birthday using this format: ElacMMDD. Note that the “E” must be capitalized. In the example above, the student has a birthday of January 8 and so the password would be Elac0108.

Faculty:
All discipline (teaching) faculty get ACE (academic network) accounts; counselors and librarians, e.g., have to request accounts if they are not currently teaching a class.

Username
The username (ACE Account) is generated from a faculty’s name using the [first six letters of the last name] + [first initial] + [middle initial]. For instance, Mark R. Robinson would have this username [robinsmr].

Password
The default password is “Elac,” followed by the last six digits of the faculty’s employee number. For example, if Mark Robinson’s employee number is 10712345, his password would be Elac712345. Note: passwords are case sensitive. Make sure the “E” in Elac is capitalized.
Note: Some employee numbers are 6-digits and others are 8-digits. In the case of 8-digits, use the last six.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is my account not working?
Make sure you are entering the exact username and password assigned to you by the college. If you are not sure about your username and password, please follow the instructions above.

Do I need to enable cookies?
You must enable your web browser to accept cookies. To enable cookies in Internet Explore 7, click on "tools" on the menu bar. Select "Internet Options," then click on the "Privacy" tab. Select "Advanced Privacy Settings," then select to accept cookies. For Firefox browser users, on the menu bar, select "options," then click the "Privacy" tab to "Accept Cookies from Sites."

Does the library databases support most web browsers?
We recommend our users to use either Internet Explorer or Firefox browsers.

What if I get a Hostname Error?
You will get a Hostname Error page when you try to access an address (domain) in one of our databases that has not been set up for use by EZproxy. Database vendors sometimes change their domain names without informing libraries. We might not know of these changes until you report a Hostname Error. Once reported, we can edit our Ezproxy settings so that access becomes available. To help us correct this error, please call the library at 323-265-8626.

I am using a firewall on my computer and I can't connect to the databases.
Depending on the level of security you have set up, there may be problems accessing the databases. If you are experiencing problems, configure your firewall to accept the URL domain libproxy.elac.edu. If this doesn't work, temporarily disable the firewall while accessing the databases.

I have read the instructions, but still can't connect to the databases.
Please call 323-265-8626 for further assistance.

 

Comments & Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip