Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases, Periodicals, and ACE Info

Find newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and more on this page.

Off-Campus Instructions

Off-Campus Access Instructions (ACE Accounts)

About ACE Accounts:

  • Currently enrolled ELAC students and faculty are automatically assigned an ACE account, which provides access to various campus services, including campus computers, Go-Print printers, and library databases.
  • To use the library's databases off-campus, all students and faculty must go through an authentication process using your ACE account. The library’s online databases are available for research 24/7.
  • Note: ELAC staff may request an ACE account from the IT department.

Students:

  • All students who are enrolled in at least one class at ELAC, except for Community Services classes at present, are automatically assigned an ACE account.
  • Login directions for students:
    • Username = Nine-digit ELAC (or LACCD) student ID number.
    • Password = ElacMMDD (The “E” must be capitalized, and MMDD = your four-digit birth month and date)

Faculty:

  • All discipline (teaching) faculty are automatically assigned ACE accounts. Counselors and librarians have to request accounts from IT if they are not currently teaching a class.
  • Login directions for faculty:
    • Username = Your username is generated from a faculty’s name using the [first six letters of the last name] + [first initial] + [middle initial]. For instance, Mark R. Robinson would have the username robinsmr
    • Password = The default password is “Elac,” followed by the last six digits of the faculty’s employee number. For example, if Mark Robinson’s employee number is 10712345, his password would be Elac712345. Make sure the “E” in Elac is capitalized.
    • Note: Some employee numbers are 6-digits and others are 8-digits. In the case of 8-digits, use the last six.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Why is my account not working? Make sure you are entering the exact username and password assigned to you by the college. If you are not sure about your username and password, please follow the instructions above.
  • Do I need to enable cookies? You must enable your web browser to accept cookies. To enable cookies in Internet Explore 7, click on "tools" on the menu bar. Select "Internet Options," then click on the "Privacy" tab. Select "Advanced Privacy Settings," then select to accept cookies. For Firefox browser users, on the menu bar, select "options," then click the "Privacy" tab to "Accept Cookies from Sites."
  • Does the library databases support most web browsers? We recommend our users to use either Internet Explorer or Firefox browsers.
  • What if I get a Hostname Error? You will get a Hostname Error page when you try to access an address (domain) in one of our databases that has not been set up for use by EZproxy. Database vendors sometimes change their domain names without informing libraries. We might not know of these changes until you report a Hostname Error. Once reported, we can edit our Ezproxy settings so that access becomes available. To help us correct this error, please call the library at 323-265-8626.
  • I am using a firewall on my computer and I can't connect to the databases. Depending on the level of security you have set up, there may be problems accessing the databases. If you are experiencing problems, configure your firewall to accept the URL domain libproxy.elac.edu. If this doesn't work, temporarily disable the firewall while accessing the databases.
  • I have read the instructions, but still can't connect to the databases. Please call 323-265-8626 for further assistance.