Introduction to Research on Popular Culture 
Page URL: http://researchguides.elac.edu/English/popculture
The Purdue OWL MLA Style Guide has instructions for formatting citations for a wide variety of sources, including films, television shows, and music.
Use reference books to find background information and get an overview of your topic.
These books aren't available to check out, but you can use them in the library as much as you'd like! Just jot down the title and call number to find the book on the shelf. These books will be found on the 1st floor of the library.
Alcohol in Popular Culture by 
American Icons by 
Celebrity in the 21st Century by 
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by 
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture by 
Pop Culture Places by General Pop Culture
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Music
Society for American Music Bulletin
Television & Film
Video Games
Women in Pop Culture
Advertising
Related Research Guides
Pop Culture Research Guide (University of Michigan)
Popular Culture Research Guide (University of Kentucky)
Popular/American Culture Research Guide (West Virginia University)
Popular & American Culture Research Guide (University of Tennessee Knoxville)
Black Popular Culture Index (Atlanta University Center)
Women and Popular Culture Research Guide (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Database Search Tips
1. Use keywords instead of questions.
2. Use AND to search separate concepts. Use OR to search synonyms.
3. Use an asterisk (*) to search multiple forms of a word. (e.g. [read*] returns results for read + readers + reading)
4. Don't forget to check the "full-text" box!
Recommended Databases:
This link opens in a new windowSearch across all EBSCO article databases.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCO for E-Books here.
Start with broad search terms, and remember to use keywords instead of questions.
Recommended Titles:
Costuming Cosplay: Dressing the Imagination by Theresa M. Winge (2019)
Disney Culture by John Wills (2017)
Homer Simpson Marches on Washington: Dissent Through American Popular Culture by Joseph J. Foy & Tim M. Dale (2010)
Immigration and American Popular Culture: An Introduction by Rachel Rubin & Jeffrey Paul Melnick (2007)
From Perverts to Fab Five: The Media's Changing Depictions of Gay Men and Lesbians by Rodger Streitmatter (2009)
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture (2011)
You've Come a Long Way, Baby: Women, Politics, and Popular Culture by Lilly J. Goren (2009)
The Mouse that Roared: Disney and the End of Innocence by Henry A. Giroux & Grace Pollock (2010)
Encyclopedia of the Vampire: The Living Dead in Myth, Legend, and Popular Culture by S.T. Joshi (2011)
Search the library catalog for books. magazines, and DVDs using keywords from your topic.
Use the title and call number to find the book on our shelves.
Books in the "Stacks" are on the 2nd floor of the library and available to check out for 28 days.
Bite Me: Food and Popular Culture by 
Bloggerati, Twitterati: How Blogs and Twitter Are Transforming Popular Culture by 
Dangerous Curves: Latina Bodies in the Media by 
Girls Gone Skank: The Sexualization of Girls in American Culture by 
It's Not the Media: The Truth About Pop Culture's Influence on Children by 
Latino Los Angeles in Film and Fiction by 
Latinx Superheroes in Mainstream Comics by 
Lockstep and Dance: Images of Black Men in Popular Culture by 
Media Messages by 
Pop Culture and the Dark Side of the American Dream by 
Pop Culture Panics by 
Pop Goes Korea: Behind the Revolution in Movies, Music, and Internet Culture by 
Pop Music, Pop Culture by 
Popular Culture by 
The Queer Fantasies of the American Family Sitcom by 
Race and Cultural Practice in Popular Culture by 
Star Trek by