ELAC Library Blog

Winter 2021 Updates for Faculty

Happy New Year! I hope you are rested, rejuvenated, and ready to rock the winter 2021 session. 
We have some important updates and changes to library resources and services we'd like to share. Although the library remains closed, online research and instructional services are available. Help is just one click, call, or text away!

 Reference & Instruction Services 

• Homepage: library.elac.edu  
• Chat: Ask Us 24/7
• Call: 323 387-3133
• Text:  323 375-1821
• Email: library@elac.edu

Boost Your Instruction

• Schedule a Zoom consultation with a librarian to discuss resources.
• Embed a research module in Canvas.
• Request an online Research Orientation for your class.
• Refer students to our:
  • YouTube Channel Video Tutorials
  • Citation Help Guide (MLA, APA, Chicago, & more)
  • Research Workshop page:
    • Live Zoom Workshops
    • 24/7 Asynchronous Video Workshops 
  • Research Courses (Spring 2021) 
    LS 101 (College Research Skills) 8-weeks: 1 Credit: UC & CSU transferrable
    LS 201 (Digital Assets: Tools & Management) 3 Credits

Library Print Books & Textbooks: Print books, including textbooks, and DVDs are not available for checkout. Students can order textbooks through the ELAC Campus Bookstore.

OER: Browse our OER Guide to locate free online course materials.

ELAC Library Online Resources

• OneSearch: A research tool that searches most of our article database, eBook, and streaming video collections simultaneously. Filter results by publication date, source type, and online availability.
   
• Electronic Books: Access our extensive e-book collections below and via our homepage. Login with your ACE account.

EBSCO E-Book Collection
Gale eBooks
Oxford’s Very Short Introductions
ProQuest eBook Central
Salem Press Online

• Streaming Videos: Use films to ignite online discussions. Login with your ACE account. Visit our Streaming Video guide for instructions on embedding films in Canvas.

Kanopy: Access 45 faculty selected films like RGB and Moonlight. Visit our Kanopy guide for more details.  We are currently out of funds to purchase Kanopy films until the spring 2021 semester. 
Films on Demand: Access over 44,000 educational films from acclaimed producers like California Newsreel, Frontline, and American Experience.
Intelecom:  Full-length videos and topic-specific clips covering over 30 academic disciplines. 
Swank: Faculty can now request films in the Swank platform. Access will begin on January 1, 2021. Faculty can create a personal account to request films. Watch films like A Raisin in the Sun, Zoot Suit, and Fences.

• New Databases: The library recently added several new databases. Visit our A-Z Database list to explore all databases. Login with your ACE account. Contact E-Resources Librarian Amy Guy if you need assistance. 

African American Experience 
American Indian Experience 
Anthropology Resource Library
Drama Online
Latino American Experience
Music Reference Collection 
Naxos Music Library
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Project MUSE (Journals)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text  
Swank

For regular library updates, subscribe to this blog at https://researchguides.elac.edu/blog or follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Have a great winter session!