Google searches the web for content posted on the Internet, usually in the form of websites.
Since anyone post content on the Internet, you'll want to make sure you're using credible websites in your research. (Review the "Evaluating sources" section of this guide to learn how!)
Google Search Tips for Research
Tips covered in the above tutorial include:
Using quotation marks " " around a phrase to search an exact word order
Using capital OR to search for synonyms or related terms
Using the minus sign - to remove a search term
Using site: to search within a website or top-level domain
Helpful Google Research Tools
Google Books: Use Google Books to browse portions of electronic books found on the open web.
Google Images: Use Google Images to find images, charts, graphs, and statistics. Don't forget to cite the original source!
Google Scholar: Use Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles on the open web. Check our Google Scholar guide to see how to incorporate our library database links!
This resource offers a look at historical texts, objects, images, and videos related to the performing arts, including sheet music and recordings of dance and musical performances from around the world.
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division at the New York Public Library is the world’s largest dance archive with an international collection that spans seven centuries.
This digital collection contains roughly 40,000 recordings of music from the border regions of Mexico and the United States. While full recordings are only available to the public by visiting UCLA, clips of each recording can be accessed from off campus.
American Theatre Wing's "Career Guide" and "In the Wings" video series provide an inside look into the lives, techniques, and careers of contemporary theater professionals
IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and "fun facts" related to Broadway.
A video archive collecting oral histories from actors, casting agents, directors, designers, press representatives, producers, playwrights, theater founders, and others who helped create Off- and Off-Off-Broadway theater.
