Welcome to the ELAC Library Internship Guide
Welcome ELAC Interns,
We are pleased to have you as an intern in our library. This guide lists relevant journals, list-servs and associations for librarians and identifies issues relevant to community colleges. It also includes our internship policies on teaching and providing reference services in our library.
Please review the materials in this guide to become better acquinated with our internship expectations. We hope your experience will be both meaningful and enjoyable.
- ELAC Library Team
Past Interns & Current Positions
Spring 2014: Xuemin Zhong, Youth Librarian at Fresno County Public Library
Spring 2013: Rita Suarez, Librarian at East Los Angeles College
Spring 2013: Nicole Ramirez, Librarian at Santa Clarita Public Library
Fall 2012: Irene Truong, Librarian at Rio Hondo College
Fall 2011: Muoy T. Li, Librarian at County of Los Angeles Public Library
Fall 2010: Alison Leonard, Online Learning and Reference Librarian at Lynn University
Spring 2010: Maribel Alvarez, Library Manager at County of Los Angeles Public Library, El Monte
Spring 2008: Erika Montenegro, Librarian at East Los Angeles College
What we do...
- Observe information literacy workshops
- Prepare and co-teach workshops
- Prepare LibGuides for classroom orientations
- Help students with information needs at the research help desk
- Guide students to appropriate information resources
- Teach students how to use the library catalog and databases
- Technology assistance, as needed
- Prepare informational LibGuides, bookmarks, flyers, and handouts
- Create fun and eye-catching displays (e.g. Poetry Month, Professor Picks, Pride Month, etc.)
- Help with special events (e.g. author readings, open-mic events, finals week events, etc.)
- Archival processing of East Los Angeles College archives collection
- Collection development for special collections (Readers' Collection, Career/Test Prep, Student Success, etc.)
What interns are saying...
"This internship prepared me to work with a diverse community, refined my public speaking and interaction skills, showed me different learning processes of community college students, and allowed me to work with a fascinating team of librarians whose work ethics represent a slice of the uniqueness found in this field." - Xuemin, Spring 2014
"This internship experience has been fun, challenging, and game-changing all at the same time! Thanks to ELAC librarians, I feel competent and confident teaching information literacy skills." - Rita, Spring 2013
How do I apply for the ELAC Internship?
- Complete the Internship Questionnaire http://goo.gl/forms/QE23WkuEEZ
- Submit an updated resume to firstname.lastname@example.org
- We will follow up with selected candidates thereafter via email
What is the time commitment for the ELAC internship?
Interns are expected to complete 100 - 160 hours over the course of their internship with the bulk of the internship hours scheduled Monday - Thursday, 7 am - 5 pm.
What will I be doing as an intern?
At the start of the internship, we work closely with our interns to create an individualized internship work plan. A typical internship work plan will include:
- Reference and research help
- Instruction (shadowing and co-teaching)
- Outreach/promotion projects
- Collection development