Internship Information Guide: Professional Development

ALA: American Library Association

ACRL: Association of College & Research Libraries

AILA: The American Indian Library Association

APALA: Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association

BCALA: Black Caucus of the American Library Association

CALA: Chinese American Librarians Association

REFORMA: The National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking

RUSA: Reference Users Service Association

NMRT: New Members Round Table

ARL: Association of Research Libraries

CARL: California Academic & Research Libraries

CLA: California Library Association

LOEX: Library Orientation Exchange

Below are some listservs you can follow to learn about professional development and employment opportunities:

• CCLibrarians-All
• CALIX (Maintained through ALA Connect)
• ILI (Maintained through ALA Connect)
• CARLALL
• CJCLS (Maintained through ALA Connect)

Below is a select list of mentorship opportunities available through professional library associations:

• ALA Mentoring: Comprehensive list of mentorship opportunities available through the ALA and its affiliates.
• CARL Mentoring Program: Academic library mentoring program specific to California.
• LACCD Project Match: Internship and mentorship program aimed at recruiting diverse community college faculty.
• LOC Internships: Remote and in-person internship and fellowship opportunities at the Library of Congress.

Local Conferences

• California Academic & Research Libraries (CARL) Conference: The CARL conference is held every two years and is a great opportunity to connect with academic library professionals around southern California. 
• Southern California Instruction Librarian (SCIL) Works Programs: CARL interest group that offers biannual mini conferences and events focusing on library instruction.
• LIli: Lifelong Information Literacy Conference: Annual conference on information literacy.

National Conferences

• American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference & Midwinter Meetings: Largest gathering of librarians you'll ever see. 
• Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Conferences & Events: Biennial academic libraries conference. Look out for student travel scholarships!
• Library Orientation Exchange (LOEX) Conference: Instruction! Instruction! Instruction! 

Online Learning

• ACRL Online Learning: Online courses, webcasts, and webinars available for free or at low cost for students.
• ALA eLearning: Online webinars, courses, and e-forums about library fundamentals, advances, and trends.
• InfoPeople: Online webinars and courses focused on public and school library issues. 
• Library Juice Academy: Short-term online courses focused on academic and public library topics. 
• @ONE Training: Free and low-cost distance learning course options focused on online instruction best practices.
• ACRL Five Things You Should Know: Short publications that explore topics relevant to trends in library instruction.
• ACRL DOLS Top Five Articles: Resource list of articles on a variety of library topics relevant to online library services and instruction.

Library Literature

• American Libraries: ALA magazine about public and academic libraries published monthly or bimonthly.
• Library Journal: Print magazine and online platform about public, academic and special library issues. 
• Reference Users Services Quarterly: Open access journal about library reference and user services.
• Journal of Academic Librarianship: Open access journal about college and university library issues.
• New Directions for Community Colleges: Quarterly journal exploring trends in community colleges.
• ACRLog: The official blog of ACRL aims to discuss issues in academic librarianship.  
• College & Research Libraries News: Magazine about academic library trends and practices.
• College & Research Libraries: Open access journal featuring academic library research.
• CHOICE: Leading review source for academic and research libraries.
• Journal of New Librarianship: Leading review source for academic and research libraries.

California Community Colleges Registry: Includes all California community college jobs posted; try searching for librar*

Community College Jobs: Includes admin, classified, and faculty positions at community college jobs in all states 

HigherEd Jobs: Includes all higher education jobs and can be narrowed by searching by job title or location

County of Los Angeles Library Jobs: Includes job and internship offerings

Los Angeles Public Library Jobs: Search for "library" or "librarian" to narrow results

Government Jobs: Search keywords "library" or "librarian" and specify location

California Academic Research Library Jobs: Includes academic librarian and library jobs

American Library Association Job list: Includes academic, public, and special library jobs

Association of Research Libraries Jobs: Includes research library jobs, residencies, and internships 

UCLA IS Lab Jobs List: Navigate alternative listings with tabs at top of screen 

Library Gig: Includes part-time, full-time and short-term jobs in academic and public libraries

Code4Lib Jobs: Includes job postings for technical library positions in libraries and museums