Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: PS 19

Political Science 19

This page is for Political Science 19, and students researching women and politics.

Link back to this page: http://researchguides.elac.edu/PoliSci/19

Getting Started: Research the Issues

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GIC provides a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies on more than 335,000 people from around the world and throughout history.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

OneSearch

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search magazine, news, and scholarly articles from a variety of inter-disciplinary databases provided by EBSCO.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 6+ ProQuest U.S. and global news & newspaper subscription databases (including Historical LA Times) simultaneously.
Searches these ProQuest Databases: Canadian Newsstream; Global Breaking Newswires; International Newsstream; ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times; and U.S. Newsstream.

Kakenya Ntaiya: A girl who demanded school

A Girl Who Demanded School

From Tedx.com: Kakenya Ntaiya made a deal with her father: She would undergo the traditional Maasai rite of passage of female circumcision if he would let her go to high school. Ntaiya tells the fearless story of continuing on to college, and of working with her village elders to build a school for girls in her community. It’s the educational journey of one that altered the destiny of 125 young women. (Filmed at TEDxMidAtlantic.)

Recommended Books

Recommended Books

Write down a book's title and call number to find it in the library.
Book titles with no call number are e-books and can be read online, after logging in with your LACCD credentials.
ELAC students can also check out books from Cal State LA's Library. Be sure to bring your ELAC ID and a print out of your class schedule!

A Call to Action: women, religion, violence, and power
Call Number: HQ1236 .C375 2015 (Second Floor Stacks)
Globalization, Prostitution and Sex Trafficking: Corporeal Politics
I Am Malala
Call Number: LC2330 .Y68 2014 (Second Floor Stacks)
Marriage Markets: how inequality is remaking the American family
Call Number: HQ536 .C348 2014 (Second Floor Stacks)
Notable Women in World Government
Politics, Gender, and Concepts
The Politics of Public Housing: Black Women's Struggles Against Urban Inequality
Under the Bus: how working women are being run over
Call Number: HD6060.5 .U5 F74 2015 (Second Floor Stacks)