Skip to Main Content

Health, Nutrition, and Nursing Research Guide

Getting ready to search

What are library databases?

Library databases are searchable online repositories of information sources.
Database content varies based on subject, discipline, and information type.
Library databases are freely accessible to currently enrolled ELAC students only.
You will be asked login with your LACCD account before a database loads. Review off-campus login directions here.

Before you begin searching:

Review your assignment.
- Are you required to use magazine articles, news articles, scholarly journal articles? Books? eBooks? Websites?
- Are you required to use a specific database, like EBSCO, ProQuest, or JSTOR?
Jot down a few keywords.
- Keywords are the main ideas, themes, topics, or subjects of your research topic.
- You'll need to use keywords (and not sentences) in the databases.

More on keywords:

Databases: Find articles and ebooks in library databases

Which database(s) should I use?

This depends on your specific topic (are you researching a historical topic, educational, social issues, current events?) and your information need (do you need scholarly articles, literary criticisms, news articles?).
Watch the video below to learn how to limit our list of databases by subject and resource type:

Best databases for Health and Nursing courses:

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across all EBSCO article databases.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full list of Gale databases allows you to search across all or selected databases.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research including peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters, and open access content.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects like earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.

OneSearch: Search library databases and print books at once

OneSearch

OneSearch is a mega-search that you can use to search our library's print materials (like books, magazines, and DVDs) and online databases at the same time.
This can be a good place to start if you want to search multiple databases.
If you are having trouble finding relevant results in OneSearch, you may want to search an individual database instead.

OneSearch Tutorial:

Try it out!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Advanced search
Search most of the library resources in one place

Step-by-step handouts:

E-Books

Browse eBooks Online

ELAC Library offers many eBook collections with free 24/7 access for our ELAC students.
You will be asked login with your LACCD account before an ebook loads. Review off-campus login directions here.

Books to Check Out

Recommended Print Books

These books can be found on the second floor of the library and are available to check out.
Write down the book's title and call number to find the book on the shelf.

Principles of Health: Pain Management
Call Number: Stacks RB127 .P75 2020
Managing Diabetes
Call Number: Stacks RC660 .B386 2019
Flatlining: Race, Work, and Health Care in the New Economy
Call Number: Stacks R695 .W56 2019
Deep Medicine: How Artificial Intelligence Can Make Healthcare Human Again
Call Number: Stacks R858 .T658 2019
The Truth about Fat
Call Number: Stacks RC628 .W34 2019
The Vaccine Debate
Call Number: Stacks QR189 .D38 2019
Never Enough: The Neuroscience and Experience of Addiction
Call Number: Stacks RC564 .G75 2019
Disrupting breast cancer narratives : stories of rage and repair
Call Number: Stacks RC280.B8 N537 2019
Invisible Visits: Black Middle-Class Women in the American Healthcare System
Call Number: Stacks RA564.86 .S23 2019
Reproductive Injustice: racism, pregnancy, and premature birth
Call Number: Stacks RA564.86 .D38 2019

Reference Books

Recommended Reference Books

The books below provide background information and are great starting points for your research.
They can be found in the Library's first-floor Reference collection, next to the Research Help Desk.
These books are available for in-library use only.

Aging
Call Number: Ref HQ 1061 .A42453 2019
Obesity in Childhood and Adolescence
Call Number: Ref RJ399.C6 O24 2019
STDs in the United States
Call Number: Ref RC 200.2 .N484 2018
Magill's Medical Guide
Call Number: Ref RC 41 .M345 2018
Steroids and Doping in Sports
Call Number: Ref RC 1230 .N48 2018
Ketogenic Diet and Metabolic Therapies
Call Number: Ref RM 237.73 .K48 2017
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels
Call Number: Ref RA 784 .G346 2017
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Call Number: Ref RM 301.12 .D44 2017
Marijuana
Call Number: Ref RM 666 .C266 N48 2017