Research Guides: Library Textbook Update: Support for Students & Faculty

Primo inline script search box

Find Articles & eBooks Online in Library Databases

Our library databases are always available from home, 24/7.

Check out our most popular databases below:

EBSCO
Search across all EBSCO article databases.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Access more than 200,000 popular and scholarly electronic books.
Includes the following EBSCO eBook collections: Academic Collection, eBook Collection, eBook Community College Collection, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, History Reference eBook Collection, MAS Reference eBook Collection, MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection, and Primary Search Reference eBook Collection.
Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles.

Link to all Databases
Not seeing what you're looking for? Check this page to see all 70+ ELAC databases!

Video Tutorials

Watch the video below to learn how to access and use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, articles, and more!

Watch the video below to learn how to access and find pro/con articles on controversial topics in Opposing Viewpoints.

Watch the video below to learn how to access and find topic overviews in Gale eBooks.

Off-Campus Database Access

When you access ELAC Library content off-campus, you may encounter a login screen.

Your login is your ACE information:

Username = ELAC/LACCD Student ID Number

Password = ElacMMDD

(Capitalize the E in Elac, and only use your four-digit birth month and date)

More Resources

Research Handouts
Find handouts for MLA, APA, and more!
Online Library Workshops
Our library workshops have moved online!
Online Research Guides
We have online guides to help you find information on many different subjects!
Free Access to Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, Excel
Don't forget all ELAC students have free access to Microsoft products through the district portal:
1. Login to the portal with your LACCD credentials.
2. Click on "Mail" button and confirm your login.
3. Your online apps will show, but if you want to download Word or PowerPoint to your computer to work offline, click on the "Install Office" button on the top-right.
Free Access to Adobe
Adobe is making temporary at-home access available till May 31, 2020 for schools and colleges, who currently have only lab access for students, at no additional cost. This offer is valid for schools and colleges affected by the COVID-19 affected campus closures.
Students' Guide to Using Zoom
Check out this helpful Zoom guide created by Santa Barbara City College for students new to the software.

Scanning Textbooks & Copyright

If you are concerned about scanning and sharing portions of your textbooks with students, please read this Statement written by copyright experts on fair use in emergency situations:

Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research
Adobe Scan App
Download the Adobe Scan app to quickly scan pages with your phone and share with your students.
Office Lens (iOS)
Office Lens is like having a scanner in your pocket. Like magic, it will digitize notes on whiteboards or blackboards. Always find important documents or business cards. Sketch your ideas and snap a picture for later. Don't lose receipts or stray sticky notes again! You can also link it to your LACCD Office 365 account. Also available at Google appstore https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.microsoft.office.officelens&hl=en_US
Adobe Creative Cloud
Don't forget you have free access to the full Adobe Suite with your LACCD credentials.

For Faculty: Import Research Modules into Canvas

How to import ELAC Library Research Modules in Canvas

Login to Canvas with your LACCD credentials: ilearn.laccd.edu
Click on your course’s Canvas shell.
On the right, under “Course Status” click on “Import from Commons”
Search for “ELAC Library”. You will see a few different items.
Click on the title of an item to see more details. To the right, click on the “Import/Download” button to import the item to your Canvas shell.

Modules Currently Available:

Using ELAC Libraries
Getting Started with Library Research
Library Research Using Databases
Primary Sources
Citing in APA (7th edition)
Citing in MLA (8th edition)
Evaluating Sources
The Annotated Bibliography

Library Textbook Update

Chat with an ELAC Librarian

24/7 Chat