Architecture Research Guide

What are library databases?

• Library databases are searchable online repositories of information sources.
• Database content varies based on subject, discipline, and information type.
• Library databases are freely accessible to currently enrolled ELAC students only.
• You will be asked login with your LACCD account before a database loads. Review off-campus login directions here.

Before you begin searching:

• Review your assignment.
  • Are you required to use magazine articles, news articles, scholarly journal articles? Books? eBooks? Websites?
  • Are you required to use a specific database, like EBSCO, ProQuest, or JSTOR?
• Jot down a few keywords.
  • Keywords are the main ideas, themes, topics, or subjects of your research topic.
  • You'll need to use keywords (and not sentences) in the databases.

More on keywords:

Which database(s) should I use?

• This depends on your specific topic (are you researching a historical topic, educational, social issues, current events?) and your information need (do you need scholarly articles, literary criticisms, news articles?).
• Watch the video below to learn how to limit our list of databases by subject and resource type.

Best databases for Architecture:

• Architectural Digest Archive: 1922-2011 (EBSCO)

Access full-text articles, images, and ads from 1922 through 2011. AD is recognized as the international authority on design and architecture. Access includes the AD100, the AD's list of the top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide.

• Digital Public Library of America 

Access millions of images, videos, and texts from online library, museum, and archive collections across America.

• ArtStor

Contains over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from more than 150 museum and university collections of paintings and photographs. Note: Access to ARTstor requires on-campus registration.

• Oxford Art Online (Grove)

Contains over 5,000 art images, maps, and line drawings from major collections and also contains links to over 40,000 images at museum websites.

• JSTOR

Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences.

OneSearch

• OneSearch is a mega-search that you can use to search our library's print materials (like books, magazines, and DVDs) and online databases at the same time.
• This can be a good place to start if you want to search multiple databases.
• If you are having trouble finding relevant results in OneSearch, you may want to search an individual database instead.

OneSearch Tutorial:

Try it out!

Step-by-step handouts: