Los Angeles Research Guide

History and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

An interdisciplinary, refereed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dosier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor, Chon A. Noriega. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.

The Education Resources Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records on topics in education with links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes over 50 titles in the mathematical and statistical sciences.

Search the full text of current scholarly journals published by university presses, mainly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by academic discipline.

Full-text titles offer additional viewpoints focusing on minority or ethnic issues. Spanish language search interfaces are provided.

Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century (1881-1995).

Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Access the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

Reference books, monographs, primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics concerning African American history and culture. Contains over 4,000 interviews with former slaves; 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s.

A full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day

Access millions of images, videos, and texts from online library, museum, and archive collections across America.

This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

Focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States.

umbrasearch.org brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.

Source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

Access thousands of documentaries and films across diverse subjects and disciplines.

Access motion picture films selected by ELAC instructors for course use. Faculty can create an account and request videos within the Swank portal. See the library's Streaming Video Guide for more information: https://researchguides.elac.edu/streamingvideo