Faculty Support & Services

Library, Citation, and Writing Handouts

• Download and share our library, citation, and writing handouts with your students at: https://researchguides.elac.edu/InstructionServices/Handouts

Access our Library Databases

• View our A-Z list of library databases at: https://researchguides.elac.edu/az.php

OER Guide

• Learn more about finding, adopting, and using open educational resources at our OER Guide.

Research Guides

• Visit and share our online research guides at https://researchguides.elac.edu
• If you would like a subject guide created for your discipline, please contact an Instruction Librarian to set up a guide consultation.

Link Database Articles in Canvas

There are two options to adding database content:

1. Find an article's "Permalink" or "Stable URL" or "DOI" and add the link as an external URL in a Canvas module. Most of our library databases will include one of these stable URLs which include our specific ELAC proxy. 
2. Download the article's PDF and upload the article as a file to a Canvas module. You will have to do this with databases that do not provide stable URLs, such as ProQuest.

How to find permalinks in EBSCO databases:

1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
2. To the right of the article record, click on Permalink
3. Your permalink will populate at the top of the article record

How to find stable URLs in JSTOR:

1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
2. Your Stable URL will be underneath the article title in the details

How to find DOIs in ScienceDirect:

1. Conduct a search and click on the title of the article you'd like to share with your students
2. The DOI will be hyperlinked underneath the authors' names

​How to add the content in Canvas: 

1. Login to ilearn.laccd.edu
2. Click on your class
3. Click on Modules
4. Click on the + symbol to add content to your chosen module
5. If you have a permalink, Stable URL, or DOI select External URL from the Add dropdown menu
   1. Copy and paste the Permalink, Stable URL, or DOI into the URL field
   2. Remind students that if they are off-campus, they will be prompted to login with their LACCD information before the article loads.
6. If you have a PDF or document you've downloaded from a database, select File from the Add dropdown menu
   1. Select New File
   2. Upload the document you've downloaded from the database

Download/Import Library Research Modules in Canvas

Information Literacy Assessment

• ELAC Libraries strive for continuous improvement in our instruction and support services.
• For more information on how we tackle assessment both in and out of the classroom, please visit our Departmental Assessment webpage at researchguides.elac.edu/assessment.

Information Literacy Tips for Faculty

Our goal is to develop a body of information literate students who are capable of using critical thinking and inquiry skills to evaluate, assess, challenge, and create information as college-level researchers.

As such, ELAC Faculty Librarians are committed to working closely with faculty across all disciplines on the incorporation and scaffolding of research skills.

Below are some tips, reminders, and best practices for ELAC faculty:

1. TIMING: Give the assignment or research prompt well before a library instruction session or before they take a library workshop. It's difficult to retain new research skills when they are not contextualized around an assignment. 
2. RESOURCES: Contact a librarian to make sure we have the resources you’re asking students to find. When in doubt, just stop by or call the Research Help Desk!
3. RUBRICS: Give clear, consistent, and explicit research expectations and rubrics. For example, let students know exactly how many books, articles, websites, etc. they are expected to find and which citation and formatting style to use.
4. TERMINOLOGY: Use clear and consistent terminology, and do not assume knowledge. For example, make sure students understand what you mean when you discuss "citations," "scholarly / peer-reviewed / academic articles," "primary sources," and other academic concepts.
5. SCAFFOLD: Reinforce the skills they've been introduced to in the library or in the past throughout the class. Library instruction sessions are not one-stop shops for independent college researching. Students need to be encouraged to continue practicing these skills throughout their courses. Scaffolding research skills is the key to success!
6. ENCOURAGE: Remind students that there are plenty of people on campus that can support and guide them. Encourage help-seeking behaviors by providing a list of campus resources on your syllabus (don't forget about the Librarians at the Research Help Desk!)  in addition to encouraging students to attend office hours.

If you are interested in learning how to better incorporate information literacy skills in your classroom and maximize your students' learning, please feel free to contact any of our Instruction Librarians to set up a one-on-one consultation.

Framework for Information Literacy

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) has developed a framework through which college librarians can approach the teaching and learning of information literacy skills. 

ELAC Librarians use the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education as a theoretical and practical guide when interacting with all of our students, whether we are working one-on-one with a student at the Research Help Desk or facilitating a customized research session for a class of forty students.

The Framework is organized into six frames, representing interrelated information literacy concepts:

• Authority Is Constructed and Contextual 
• Information Creation as a Process
• Information Has Value
• Research as Inquiry
• Scholarship as Conversation
• Searching as Strategic Exploration

The Framework allows faculty and librarians to encourage and guide students to question, engage, and participate in the creation and evaluation of information as college-level researchers.

Posters from Bucknell University, Betrand Library, Research Services.

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike 4.0 International license.