Research Guides: Health, Nutrition, and Nursing Research Guide: Finding websites on Google

Google: Finding websites and more

What is Google?

Google is a powerful Internet search engine.
Google searches the web for content posted on the Internet, usually in the form of websites.
Since anyone post content on the Internet, you'll want to make sure you're using credible websites in your research. (Review the "Evaluating sources" section of this guide to learn how!)

Google Search Tips for Research

Tips covered in the above tutorial include:

Using quotation marks " " around a phrase to search an exact word order
Using capital OR to search for synonyms or related terms
Using the minus sign - to remove a search term
Using site: to search within a website or top-level domain

Helpful Google Research Tools

Google Books: Use Google Books to browse portions of electronic books found on the open web.
Google Images: Use Google Images to find images, charts, graphs, and statistics. Don't forget to cite the original source!
Google Scholar: Use Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles on the open web. Check our Google Scholar guide to see how to incorporate our library database links!

Recommended Websites for Health Research

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people—at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.
Consortium of Universities for Global Health
The Global Health Education Consortium is an online community dedicated to providing information and educational resources about global health.
Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
Global Health Council
The Global Health Council is a non-governmental organization committed to providing a neutral view on global health, along with information on research and policies about global health.
MedNar
Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine. As an alternative to Google, Mednar accelerates your research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources
National Institutes of Health
The NIH is the nation's medical research agency and supports both domestic and international health discoveries and endeavors.
Office on Women's Health
The Office on Women's Health (OWH), part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), works to improve the health and sense of well-being of all U.S. women and girls.
U.S. County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
CHR&R provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support community leaders working to improve health and increase health equity. The rankings are complemented by tools and resources designed to accelerate community learning and action.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
FDA’s mission is to promote and protect the public health by helping safe and effective products reach the market in a timely way, and monitoring products for continued safety after they are in use.
World Health Organization
The WHO provides health information on an international scale.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Pro Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
OpenMD
OpenMD.com is a search engine that makes high-quality medical information easily accessible to everyone. OpenMD searches billions of documents from government agencies, global health organizations, medical journals, and reference sites.

Recommended Websites for Nutrition Research

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, formerly the American Dietetic Association, is the largest organization of food and nutrition professionals in the United States. It works to shape the food choices and nutritional status of the public for optimal nutrition, health, and well-being.
Choose My Plate
Provided by the USDA, Choose My Plate provides videos, infographics, and other educational materials related to nutrition and health.
Let's Move
As First Lady, Michelle Obama launched the Let's Move! initiative to combat obesity and enable young people to develop healthier food and exercise habits. The Let's Move! archived website provides classroom lessons, videos, gardening guides, statistics, recipes, and activity calendars to help young people make healthier choices.
MedLine Plus: Nutrition
MedlinePlus, produced by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, provides information in plain language from trusted sources on over 1,000 diseases and conditions. The website contains directories, a medical encyclopedia, health information in Spanish, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
USDA Economic Research Service: Food Choices and Health
The Economic Research Service (ERS) is the US Department of Agriculture's main source for economic research and information. The agency was established to aid in public and private decision-making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, natural resources, and rural development. On its Food Choices and Health topic page, the ERS website features research regarding diet quality and nutrition, food access and demand, consumer labeling, and the relationship between economics and dietary patterns.
USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center
The Food and Nutrition Information Center, which is part of the National Agricultural Library administered by the U.S.D. A., is a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination. Their website provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Vegan Action
Vegan Action is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping animals, the environment, and human health by educating the public about the benefits of a vegan lifestyle and encouraging the spread of vegan food options through public outreach campaigns.