Research Guides: Sociology Research Guide: Background research and finding books

Background research

Background research can help you:

Starter databases:

Best starter databases for Sociology topics:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles.

Opposing Viewpoints Tutorial

This browseable database contains information on current events and controversial topics.
A great place to find and refine topic ideas, and read pro and con arguments.
Watch the video below to learn more:

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Access pro and con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text journal articles.
- This link opens in a new window

Browse Books in the Library

Academic Profiling: Latinos, Asian Americans, and the achievement gap by Gilda L. Ochoa
Call Number: LC212.22 .C35 O24 2013
Transnational Struggles: policy, gender, and family life on the Texas-Mexico border by Juan José Bustamante
Call Number: F395 .M5 B87 2014
The Tolerance Trap: how God, genes, and good intentions are sabotaging gay equality by Suzanna Danuta Walters
Call Number: HQ76.5 .W35 2014
Marriage Markets: how inequality is remaking the American family by Naomi Cahn
Call Number: HQ536 .C348 2014

Browse eBooks Online

ELAC Library offers many eBook collections with free 24/7 access for our ELAC students.
You will be asked login with your LACCD account before an ebook loads. Review off-campus login directions here.